Foraged lunch

While walking around the back garden looking for spring wildflower surprises at midday, I spied several spindly stalks swaying in the light breeze. As I got closer, they turned out to be wild asparagus (Asparagus acutifolius; in Valenciano, esparreguera)! It took me back to the late 70s, to the first book that inspired me into foraging and gathering and eating wild foods – Euell Gibbons’ Stalking the Wild Asparagus.

Well, the beauty of it is that there was no need to stalk these at all. They were just there underneath the pines, the ground having been cleared of the thicket of viciously spined smilax vines that had made that side of the garden a forbidding jungle about a year ago when we moved in. (Though ruthlessly slashed a month back to clear the ground, the reddish new smilax shoots are beginning to push through. Known here as zarzaparilla, they are apparently edible. Hmm… do I dare try them as well? We shall see.)

I was enthralled, walking from clump to clump of waving asparagus, breaking off only the tender top tips, and in no time at all I had a good handful. Just the ticket for lunch – freshly picked wild asparagus! They were brilliant with pasta and some home-made pesto (also from ‘foraged’ basil – actually plants that were past their prime in a nursery that had closed down last autumn) made with artisanal green olive oil from Catalonia. A generous amount of chopped garlic was stirred in at the last minute. And to my surprise, the asparagus tasted much sweeter than store-bought ones. Bliss! Casa Wild asparagus pasta_5605

Casa wild aspara from garden_5603.JPG

Casa wild aspara soaking blue bowl_5604

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Foraged lunch

  1. How wonderful! I often make pasta with garlic sautéed in olive oil and whatever vegetable I can get that’s fresh!! Warm hugs! You inspire me forage for wild asparagus! Pines abound where we are!
    xo, cess

    Like

    • How lovely of you to drop by, dear Cess! And thank you for your kind comment. I agree that a veggie pasta is simply fab. I have rucola/arugula growing now well that I sowed from seed, and that’s most likely going to grace my pasta one of these days. Wishing you lots of luck (and fun too) stalking wild asparagus. Besos!

      Like

Leave a Reply

